Sunday, September 29, 2013

* New * Straight From The Hook

I must say a disappointing debut CD from this guy. With only one exception, all else are repeats. The only track I have not spotted on CD before is "I'm A Fool For You" by George Scott. That leans more towards southern soul than sweet soul. The sound quality varies.
2 out of 10

Friday, September 27, 2013

Sur Side Rolas Vol. 1

Here is a nice boot CD that made it around the web some years ago. If you love Doo Wop as I do this CD will make a great addition to your collection. Many highlights by such artists as Miles & Andrew, Jimmy & The Sundails, The Tellers, The Resonics, The Carthey's and many others. The sound quality varies.
10 out of 10

Eccentric Soul: The Nickle & Penny Labels

The Numero Group keeps bringing to light some of the best label compilations out there. As always a nice package. Highlights include "Never More" and "I'm Not Ready To) settle Down" by Little Ben & The Cheers, "Without You" by The Norvells and "I've Got To Find A Way" by The Halleluiah Chorus. A must for your collection.
7 out of 10

Jeanne & The Darlings / The Charmels

I only stopped on "That Man Of Mine" on the Jeanne & The Darlings portion of this CD. The Charmels' tracks are much better. Their highlights include "Please Uncle Sam", "As Long As I've Got You", "Sea Shells" and "I've Done It Again". A nice package with plenty of liner notes.
6 out of 10.

The Jackson 5

A couple of gems in The Jackson 5's Pre-History release, "Big Boy" and "I Never had A Girl" make it a must have. The next release has a couple of very good covers of "Can You Remember" and "La la Means I Love You" along with "Who's Loving You". On the third CD we get "I'm So Happy" and "All I Do Is Think Of You". The last CD has the common tracks that helped cement the group in music history. You got to have some Jackson 5 in your collection.
6 out of 10

Eccentric Soul: The Deep City Label

Another solid release with good sound quality (with the exception of the final track) and liner notes. Highlights include "I Am Controlled By Your Love" by Helene Smith, "I Love You Baby" by The Moovers and "Paralyzed" by Betty Wright. A recommended addition to your collection.
8 out of 10

Cicero Blake

Only a couple of tracks really appealed to me on this release, "Sad Feeling" and "Be Good To Me". I skipped though most of the rest of the tracks.
4 out of 10

Friday, September 20, 2013

Eccentric Soul: A Red, Black & Green Production

A solid release with the top notch sound quality and good liner notes that we now come to expect from the Numero Group. One of the best volumes in the Eccentric Soul series with some real killer sweet soul. Highlights include "I Really, Really Love You" by Father's Children, "It Must Be Love" by The Exceptions, "We Share Love" by Skip Mahoaney and The Casuals, "Let's Do It Over" by The Summits and ""Don't Worry About The Joneses" by Dyson's Faces. A must for the sweet soul music fan.
8 out of 10

Mi Vida Loca

The oldies on this release are all common. A good deal of hip hop which just kills the CD for me. Good sound quality, no liner notes. Consider passing this one up.
1 out of 10

Los Stardustrers

A nice cover of "Forever" but that is about it. "Tain't No Big Thing" is OK but not a track that stands out.
4 out of 10

Garnet Mimms

More pop than soul. If you like Tommy Edwards then you will appreciate this. I can't recommend.
1 out of 10

Blvd Classics

Another alternative set for these who are just beginning their soul journey. For the rest of us this collection is just a re-shuffle job. There is nothing new brought to light here. There are some tracks which repeat on different volumes. Then there is volume 8, this one is a disaster! Most of the tracks on this volume should never be included in these types of collections. Sound quality varies, no liner notes. Pick this one up maybe if you want an alternative to the Dedicated To You series.
4 out of 10

Tuesday, September 10, 2013

* New * Guilty Pleasures Volumes 1 & 2

I recently picked these two discs up and was told that with the sole exception of The Escorts "Heart Of Gold" nothing else had ever been on CD. As I went through the tracks I quickly identified most of the repeats. The "99% new rolas" claim in reality is around the 5% mark with this guy. There are a few tight ballads such as "Everyday" by Inbassador, "Gee Girl" Vernon Griffin & Selika, "In My Opinion Pt. 2" by The Vandals, and "Please Don't Leave Me Now" by The Fifth Amendment. Sound quality is not all that good, has an MP3 rip sound.
3 out of 10